My first pregnancy – Hello, Ian!!

A month after our wedding, I started having cramps..pretty similar to menstrual cramps..but more intense..I thought it’s just a really bad PMS and I went ahead with my 10km run after testing negative. Halfway through my run, I couldn’t continue anymore because of a sharp pain at the abdomen. Still disturbed by the incident, I tested again the next day..and I’m pregnant!

The first thing that we did was to arrange for an appointment with a gynae. The first gynae that I visited made me weep loads..because she told me the cold hard truth about miscarriages..so I got really paranoid and worried..the 2nd gynae’s location is less accessible by public transport..so we moved on to the last and final one..Dr Jocelyn Wong. She is really optimistic and I feel at ease whenever I see her. So yup, she’s my chosen gynae!

My pregnancy with Ian is considered smooth sailing compared to my time with Evan.🤣🤣 Though at week 5, I did have spotting (implantation bleeding)..I was fine after taking duphaston and days of bedrest. At week 10, I tried to queue at a restaurant and I fainted after less than 10 mins of queueing..heard from Papa Thiam that the scene was quite dramatic as it happened in a crowded shopping mall and I was sent to the hospital by ambulance. But thankfully, all was good. From then on, there’s no major medical concern for the pregnancy.

As my tummy gets bigger and bigger, I started having cramps and pains..My gynae thought I may gave birth earlier so gave me 2 weeks of hospitalization leave prior to my EDD to rest and to prepare for Ian’s arrival. Unexpectedly, Ian finds my womb sooooo comfy that he’s not out at 39 weeks and I’m advised to walk more and climb more stairs (complete opposite for Evan’s case!). I did! I walked from Novena MRT to Thomson medical for my check ups..I walked an hour plus around the park connector..but still, there’s no sign of labour.

Just when you least expect things to happen, my water bag burst after Papa Thiam head off for work. At that point, I was thinking if it’s really waterbag bursting because I just felt a small trickle of liquid flowing out and it stopped. It wasn’t like what I have seen on the TV..and I had too many false alarms before that (so was a little embarassed to head off straight to the clinic without being sure)..so I made my way to my aunty’s hse by MRT and bus (still thinking if my waterbag has burst), had my favourite wanton mee and finally cab down to TMC (glad that my aunt’s hse is pretty near the hospital). And hooray! My gynae confirmed that my waterbag has burst! But everything was still pretty slow motioned..maybe because it’s still the early stage of labour, there’s no contractions or bleeding. I even spent some time washing TMC’s labour ward toilet because I didn’t expect the suppository to work so soon and it’s so powerful. 😂😂

Before the delivery of Ian, I told Papa Thiam that I will try to do without epidural. So from 10.30 am to 6 pm, I was without epidural and I don’t feel much pain. But I guess the waiting game became too long..my cervix was not opening and I started having an immense pressure at the cervix before contractions kicked in..it began to get more painful and I finally decided to call for an anaesthetist for epidural. But the anaesthetist wasn’t around and I got to wait for her to travel to the hospital. By 7.30 pm, I can no longer enjoy my Korean Drama and I can’t wait to have epidural administered. After the epidural, I felt much better and the cervix started to dilate faster. At the same time, I had some side effects of epidural..I began to have fever and was shivering..then I started to vomit. When Dr Wong asked if I’m ready to push, I said “Okay but wait, I need to vomit” and of course that made me felt better before I began the pushing exercise. And very soon, Ian was out!! Hurray!! A good 16 hours of labour. Lol.

Leave a comment